Rhubarb Coffee Cake


Ingredients

1/2 cup butter
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup milk
2 cups chopped rhubarb

Topping
1 cup brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans)
Directions: Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla. Mix dry ingredients. Add dry ingredients and milk to mixture. Fold in rhubarb. Pour 1/2 batter into greased 9×13 pan. Sprinkle 1/2 of topping on batter. Add remaining batter and then the rest of topping. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes.

5 responses to “Rhubarb Coffee Cake

  1. We love this recipe! It is one of our favorites!

  2. Try reducing the sugar in the batter to 3/4 cups. It still is very sweet!

  3. I’ll have to try that – it’s always nice to cut back the sugar.

  4. I still get rave reviews for this coffee cake. I make it a couple of times a month all winter long with my rhubarb that I froze from spring. I chop the rhubarb and put 2 cups into a Ziploc bag. Yummy goodness all winter long!

  5. I still use this recipe regularly and my kids love it! I shared your site here at my blog: http://prairiescraps.blogspot.com/2015/04/fresh-rhubarb.html

Leave a Reply

